The Digital Archive and complementary Interactive Heritage Register Map are initiatives to provide historical information regarding properties included on the Township’s Heritage Register. The Digital Archive only includes properties which have consented to include their heritage property on this archive.
We recognize that when the first Euro‐Canadian settlers arrived in what is now Puslinch Township, the Anishinaabe ancestors of the Mississaugas of the Credit First Nation had long established hunt camps in the area. Through written and verbal accounts we understand that the Anishinaabe interacted with the settlers in a friendly and cooperative manner. It is acknowledged that the development of the Township encroached upon their traditional way of life resulting in their displacement.
Alexander McKay House
The Alexander McKay House was built around 1860 of granite and limestone. Built by Alexander, the McKay family, and possibly mason Angus McDonald, the one-and-a-half storey Ontario style house has a central gable and limestone trim around the windows and doors. The McKay House also has double-arched Gothic windows above the front door, a unique architectural feature seen in one other house in the area.
The Alexander McKay family had arrived in Puslinch and settled onto Lot 19 in 1841.
The property is historically associated with Scottish masonry in Puslinch as well as “The Third” Schoolhouse (School Section #5).