The Digital Archive and complementary Interactive Heritage Register Map are initiatives to provide historical information regarding properties included on the Township’s Heritage Register. The Digital Archive only includes properties which have consented to include their heritage property on this archive.
We recognize that when the first Euro‐Canadian settlers arrived in what is now Puslinch Township, the Anishinaabe ancestors of the Mississaugas of the Credit First Nation had long established hunt camps in the area. Through written and verbal accounts we understand that the Anishinaabe interacted with the settlers in a friendly and cooperative manner. It is acknowledged that the development of the Township encroached upon their traditional way of life resulting in their displacement.
William Hume House
The William Hume House was built in 1861. The Hume House, as well as the stone barn on the property are fine examples of Georgian architecture. The two-storey residence has 9-over-9 paned windows around a central door, and a stone single-storey wing. Stonemason Peter Hume made the stonework of the William Hume House random, giving it unique appearance and character. Unfortunately, the stone barn, shown below, fell into disrepair and collapsed by the end of the twentieth century, and the rubble was removed. The house remains in good condition.
The Hume farm and house became known as “Greystone.” William Hume’s son David took over the property, followed by his son Boyd Hume.
The William Hume House and property are historically associated with agriculture and stone barn construction in Puslinch and Arkell.