Scott House - Digital Archive

The Digital Archive and complementary Interactive Heritage Register Map are initiatives to provide historical information regarding properties included on the Township’s Heritage Register. The Digital Archive only includes properties which have consented to include their heritage property on this archive.

We recognize that when the first Euro‐Canadian settlers arrived in what is now Puslinch Township, the Anishinaabe ancestors of the Mississaugas of the Credit First Nation had long established hunt camps in the area. Through written and verbal accounts we understand that the Anishinaabe interacted with the settlers in a friendly and cooperative manner. It is acknowledged that the development of the Township encroached upon their traditional way of life resulting in their displacement.

Scott House

6835 Concession 1 Rear Gore, Lot 14 Puslinch, ON
Photo of Scott House

Biographical Info

The Scott House was built in 1877. The Scott House is a one-and-a-half storey Victorian villa, with a central gable and two unique bow-shaped windows at the front. The bow shape goes down to meet the foundation of the residence.

John Scott purchased the deed for Lot 14 in 1857 and commissioned either Dan McQuillan or Duncan McDonald as stonemason for his limestone residence. It is possible that McDonald built the house, while McQuillan built the notable stone barn and silo.

The property is historically associated with Scottish immigration from Perthshire and the settlement of Killean in Puslinch.


The Scott House - Exterior and Fence

The Scott House - Exterior from the Road

Categories: Decade Built – 1870s, Decade Plaqued – 2000s, Historical Association – Scottish/Scotland, Materials – Stone, One-and-a-half storeys, Ontario House Style, Victorian Style