The Digital Archive and complementary Interactive Heritage Register Map are initiatives to provide historical information regarding properties included on the Township’s Heritage Register. The Digital Archive only includes properties which have consented to include their heritage property on this archive.
We recognize that when the first Euro‐Canadian settlers arrived in what is now Puslinch Township, the Anishinaabe ancestors of the Mississaugas of the Credit First Nation had long established hunt camps in the area. Through written and verbal accounts we understand that the Anishinaabe interacted with the settlers in a friendly and cooperative manner. It is acknowledged that the development of the Township encroached upon their traditional way of life resulting in their displacement.
William Nicoll House
The William Nicoll House was built around 1860 to 1880. Alexander Nicoll constructed a log house on the site, which he later incorporated into the current stone house. The one-storey structure built in 1860 had a second storey added in 1880. The Nicoll House possesses unique chimneys, soffits, and rusticated quoins, and is an excellent example of a complete homestead.
Andrew Stahl had purchased Lot 35 in the 1830s. Stahl sold the property to Alexander Nicoll in 1834. After Alexander’s death, his son, Lieutenant Colonel William Nicoll took over the property at age fifteen. William Nicoll held many municipal offices, including Reeve of Puslinch (1882-1893) and Warden of Wellington County. He was a highly respected member of the Puslinch community.
The William Nicoll House is associated with Scottish immigration, as well as political and military history in Puslinch.